Home CFP Dates Contacts Submission
Workshops Registration & Accommodation
International Conference on Logic Programming 1999 
November 29 - December 4, 1999 
Las Cruces, New Mexico (USA) 
ICLP'99, the Sixteenth International Conference on Logic Programming will be a unique event in several ways. It will be organized in an integrated, theme-based way, with workshops, tutorials, invited talks and regular conference presentations grouped along key topics. Other new features will include a fully open poster session and mini-tutorials to introduce the more specialized sessions and workshops. 

The conference will be held in Las Cruces, a small desert town in southern New Mexico; famous for its red and green chilis, hot Mexican food, and its old western traditions. The weather is warm and sunny all year round. Recreational opportunities abound, with ski resorts, hiking trails, casinos, etc. only short driving distances away. 

LPNMR'99, the International Conference on Logic Programming and Non-Monotonic Reasoning, will also be held from Dec. 2 to Dec. 4 in El Paso, New Mexico, only 30 miles away from Las Cruces. 

NLULP'99, the Natural Language Understanding and Logic Programming workshop will also co-locate with ICLP'99. 

Joint events, as well as the possibility of reduced joint registration are planned. 


Since the first ICLP, held in Marseilles in 1982, ICLP has been the premier international conference for presenting research into logic programming.  Original papers are sought in all areas of logic programming including (but not restricted to): 

Non-monotonic reasoning
Memory Management 
Language Issues 
Higher Order 
Programming Techniques
Program Analysis 
Program Transformation 
Deductive Databases 
Software Engineering 
Artificial Intelligence 
Natural Language
Specific attention will be given to work providing novel integrations over these different areas, to the application of logic programming in software engineering, including relations 
to object orientation, to component-based and Internet-based development, and to new applications of logic programming in general. 

The technical program will include several invited talks and advanced tutorials in addition to the presentations of the accepted papers.  The invited speakers include 

  • Ken Bowen (USA) 
  • Vladimir Lifschitz (USA) 
  • Fernando Pereira (USA) 
  • Bernhard Thalheim (Germany) 
Tutorials will be presented by 
  • Manuel Hermenegildo (Spain) 
  • Ken Kahn (USA) 
  • Peter Van Roy (Belgium) 
The conference proceedings will be published by MIT Press. The conference is sponsored by the Association for Logic Programming. Members of the Association for Logic Programming will receive a registration discount and the ALP has some funds to assist financially disadvantaged participants. 


Papers must describe original, previously unpublished research, be written and presented in English, not exceed 15 pages (A4 or letter format, up to 5,000 words), and not be simultaneously submitted for publication elsewhere. 

Papers should clearly express the contribution of the paper, both in general and in technical terms. It is essential to identify what was accomplished, describe its significance, and explain how the paper compares with and advances previous work. Authors should make every effort to make the technical content understandable to a broad audience. 

Submission will proceed in two phases: abstract submission and full paper submission. For both, the primary means of submission will be electronic. Details on how to submit electronically can be found on the submission page. Only if electronic submission is not possible, 5 hard copies of your paper should be sent to the program chair at the postal address given below. Also, if it is impossible to submit your abstract electronically, a letter with a plain text abstract of about 200 words and the names, e-mail addresses if possible, and postal addresses of all authors, must be sent to the program chair. The letter must be received by May 4, 1999. The full submissions must be received  by May 10, 1999. Both are hard deadlines. 

Workshop proposals:       March 1, 1999.  

Submission (abstract):    May 4, 1999 

Submission (full paper):  May 10, 1999.  

Notification:                       July 13, 1999.  

Camera ready copies:      August 20, 1999 


Contact for organizational matters:  

Contact for program matters:  
Danny De Schreye
Dept. Computer Science
K.U. Leuven 
Celestijnenlaan 200A
3001 Heverlee, Belgium
Conference chair:  
Gopal Gupta 
Program chair:  
Danny De Schreye  
Publicity co-chairs: 
Michael Leuschel  
C.R. Ramakrishnan
Workshop Coordinator: 
Enrico Pontelli
Open Poster Coordinator: 
Bart Demoen  
Chris Weaver
Regular Poster Coordinator: 
Andy King 
Chris Weaver
Program committee:  
  • Annalisa Bossi 
  • Mats Carlsson 
  • Philippe Codognet 
  • Veronica Dahl 
  • Andrew Davison 
  • Maria Garcia de la Banda 
  • Bart Demoen 
  • Danny De Schreye 
  • Juergen Dix 
  • Burkhard Freitag 
  • Gopal Gupta 
  • Michael Hanus 
  • Steffen Hoelldobler 
  • Andy King 
  • Fariba Sadri 
  • Giorgio Levi 
  • Dale Miller 
  • Luis Moniz Pereira 
  • Raghu Ramakrishnan 
  • Peter Stuckey 
  • Mirek Truszczynski 
  • Kazunori Ueda 
  • Pascal Van Hentenryck 
  • Peter Van Roy 
  • Andrei Voronkov 
Organizing Committee:  
Gopal Gupta  
Enrico Pontelli  
Vitor Santos Costa 
Janyce Wiebe
This page was last updated on 04/22/98.