CFP: RR 2013


RR 2013
The 7th International Conference on Web Reasoning and Rule Systems
Mannheim, Germany, July 27-29, 2013


The International Conference on Web Reasoning and Rule Systems (RR) is a major forum for discussion and dissemination of new results concerning Web Reasoning and Rule Systems.

RR 2013 is associated with a number of interesting events:

The Reasoning Web Summer School is a great opportunity particularly for young researchers to combine with attendance of the conference. Submissions by summer school participants are particularly encouraged.


RR welcomes original research from all areas of Web Reasoning. Topics of particular interest are:

  • Semantic Web, Rule and Ontology Languages, and related logics
  • Reasoning, Querying, Searching and Optimization
  • Incompleteness, Inconsistency and Uncertainty
  • Non-monotonic, Commonsense, and Closed-World Reasoning for the Web
  • Dynamic information, Stream Reasoning and Complex Event Processing
  • Decision Making, Planning, and Intelligent Agents
  • Reasoning, Machine Learning, Knowledge Extraction and IR Technologies
  • Large-scale data management and reasoning on the Web of Data
  • Data Integration, Dataspaces and Ontology-Based Data Access
  • Non-Standard Reasoning
  • Algorithms for distributed, parallelized, and scalable reasoning
  • System Descriptions and Experimentation
  • Application and Experience Papers


RR 2013 will also host a doctoral consortium, which will provide doctoral students in Web Reasoning and related areas with the unique opportunity to present and discuss their research directions, being involved into state-of-the-art research discussion and being supported in establishing fruitful collaborations with prominent researchers and pioneers in the field of Web Reasoning and Rules and related areas.


The conference proceedings will be published by Springer within the Lecture Notes in Computer Science (LNCS) series (to be confirmed). Submissions must be prepared in Springer’s LaTeX style llncs (

There are two submission formats:

  • Full papers (up to 15 pages) Original research works in the above areas
  • Technical Communications (up to 6 pages) Results and ideas of interest to the RR audience, including reports about recent own publications, position papers, system descriptions and application descriptions (accompanying a demo), and presentations of preliminary results

All accepted works will be included in the proceedings, with Technical Communications clearly marked as such. All full papers and selected Technical Communications will be invited to give a talk at the conference. All accepted works will have the opportunity to present a poster and/or a system demo.

Submissions can be made in EasyChair:

Submission instructions for the RR2013 Doctoral Consortium will be communicated by means of a separate Call for Papers.


Abstract submission:          March 25, 2013, before 23:59 UTC
Full papers submission:       March 30, 2013, before 23:59 UTC
Notification of acceptance:   May  7, 2013
Camera-ready submission:      May 21, 2013


Thomas Eiter, Vienna University of Technology
Leonid Libkin, University of Edinburgh
Nicola Leone, University of Calabria


General chair:

  • Sebastian Rudolph, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology

Program chairs:

  • Wolfgang Faber, University of Calabria
  • Domenico Lembo, Sapienza University of Rome

Local Chair:

  • Heiner Stuckenschmidt, University of Mannheim

Doctoral Consortium Chair:

  • Alessandra Mileo, DERI Galway

Sponsorship Chair:

  • Marco Maratea, University of Genoa

Program Committee

  • José Júlio Alferes (New University of Lisbon, Portugal)
  • Darko Anicic (Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Germany)
  • Marcello Balduccini (Kodak Research Laboratories, USA)
  • Leopoldo Bertossi (Carleton University, Canada)
  • Meghyn Bienvenu (CNRS & University of Paris-Sud, France)
  • Gerhard Brewka (Leipzig University, Germany)
  • Francois Bry (University of Munich, Germany)
  • Vinay Chaudhri (SRI International, USA)
  • Bernardo Cuenca Grau (University of Oxford, UK)
  • Claudia D’Amato (University of Bari, Italy)
  • Agostino Dovier (University of Udine, Italy)
  • Esra Erdem (Sabanci University, Turkey)
  • Michael Fink (Vienna University of Technology, Austria)
  • Sergio Flesca (University of Calabria, Italy)
  • Gerhard    Friedrich (University of Klagenfurt, Austria)
  • Gianluigi Greco (University of Calabria, Italy)
  • Stijn Heymans (SRI International, USA)
  • Giovambattista Ianni (University of Calabria, Italy)
  • Michael    Kifer (Stony Brook University, USA)
  • Roman Kontchakov (Birkbeck College, UK)
  • Manolis Koubarakis (National and Kapodistrian University of Athens, Greece)
  • Markus Krötzsch (University of Oxford, UK)
  • Georg Lausen (University of Freiburg, Germany)
  • Joohyung Lee (Arizona State University, USA)
  • Francesca Alessandra Lisi (University of Bari, Italy)
  • Jorge Lobo (Universitat Pompeu Fabra, Spain)
  • Thomas Lukasiewicz (University of Oxford, UK)
  • Carsten    Lutz (University of Bremen, Germany)
  • Michael    Maher (University of New South Wales, Australia)
  • Alessandra Mileo (National University of Ireland Galway, Ireland)
  • Leora Morgenstern (Science Applications International Corporation, USA)
  • Boris Motik (University of Oxford, UK)
  • Marie-Laure Mugnier (University of Montpellier 2, France)
  • Giorgio    Orsi (University of Oxford, UK)
  • Magdalena Ortiz (Vienna University of Technology, Austria)
  • Adrian Paschke (Free University of Berlin, Germany)
  • David Pearce (Technical University of Madrid, Spain)
  • Axel Polleres (National University of Ireland Galway, Ireland)
  • Guilin Qi (Southeast University, China)
  • Steven Schockaert (Cardiff University, UK)
  • Steffen    Staab (University of Koblenz-Landau, Germany)
  • Umberto    Straccia (ISTI-CNR, Italy)
  • Heiner Stuckenschmidt (University of Mannheim, Germany)
  • David Toman (University of Waterloo, Canada)
  • Mirek Truszczynski (University of Kentucky, USA)
  • Ivan Varzinczak (CSIR Meraka Institute, South Africa