CFP: 6th International Conference on Web Reasoning and Rule Systems

RR 2012
The 6th International Conference on Web Reasoning and Rule Systems

Vienna, Austria, 10-12 September 2012

The International Conference on Web Reasoning and Rule Systems (RR) is a major forum for discussion and dissemination of new results concerning Web Reasoning and Rule Systems.

Highlights in 2012
In addition to regular papers, RR 2012 solicits the submission of TECHNICAL COMMUNICATIONS (TCs) that report about some interesting recent work, preliminary result, or inspiring viewpoints. Selected TCs will be invited for a full presentation like regular papers.

RR 2012 is co-located with a number of interesting events:

The Reasoning Web Summer School is a great opportunity particularly for young researchers to combine with attendance of the conference. Submissions by summer school participants are particularly encouraged.

RR welcomes original research from all areas of Web Reasoning. Topics of particular interest are:

  • Semantic Web, Rule and Ontology Languages, and related logics
  • Reasoning, Querying, Searching and Optimization
  • Incompleteness, Inconsistency and UncertaintyNon-monotonic, Commonsense, and Closed-World Reasoning for the Web
  • Dynamic information, Stream Reasoning and Complex Event Processing
  • Decision Making, Planning, and Intelligent Agents
  • Reasoning, Machine Learning, Knowledge Extraction and IR Technologies
  • Large-scale data management and reasoning on the Web of Data
  • Data Integration, Dataspaces and Ontology-Based Data Access
  • Non-Standard Reasoning
  • Algorithms for distributed, parallelized, and scalable reasoning
  • System Descriptions and Experimentation
  • Applications and Experience Papers

The conference proceedings will be published by Springer within the Lecture Notes in Computer Science (LNCS) series. Submissions must be prepared in Springer’s LaTeX style llncs ( There are two submission formats:

  • Full papers (up to 15 pages): Original research works in the above areas
  • echnical Communications (up to 4 pages): Results and ideas with interest to the RR audience, including reports about recent own publications, position papers, and presentations of preliminary results

All accepted submissions will be included in the proceedings, with Technical Communications clearly marked as such. Authors of full papers and of selected Technical Communications will be invited to give a talk at the conference. Authors of all accepted submissions will have the opportunity to present a poster.

Submissions can be made in EasyChair:

Important Dates

Abstract submission: May 14, 2012
Full papers submission: May 23, 2012
Notification of acceptance: June 22, 2012

Invited Speakers
(in preparation)

Program Committee
Darko Anicic, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology
Jean-Francois Baget, LIRMM Montpellier
Chitta Baral, Arizona State University
Salem Benferhat, University of Artois
Fernando Bobillo, University of Zaragoza
Gerhard Brewka, University of Leipzig
Francois Bry, Ludwig-Maximilians University Munich
Diego Calvanese, Free University of Bozen-Bolzano
Vinay Chaudhri, SRI International U.S.A.
Kendall Clark, Clark & Parsia LLC Washington DC
Tommaso Di Noia, Technical University of Bari
Francesco M Donini, University of Tuscia
Thomas Eiter, TU Vienna
Michael Fink, TU Vienna
Birte Glimm, Ulm University
Claudio Gutierrez, Universidad of Chile
Andreas Harth, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology
Aidan Hogan, National University of Ireland Galway
Giovambattista Ianni, University of Calabria
Yevgeny Kazakov, University of Oxford
Michael Kifer, Stony Brook University
Clemens Kupke, University of Oxford
Georg Lausen, University of Freiburg
Domenico Lembo, Unversity of Rome “La Sapienza”
Francesca Alessandra Lisi, University of Bari
Thomas Lukasiewicz, University of Oxford
Wolfgang May, University of Göttingen
Alessandra Mileo, National University of Ireland Galway
Ralf Moeller, Hamburg University of Technology
Marie-Laure Mugnier, University of Montpellier II
Magdalena Ortiz, TU Vienna
Jeff Z. Pan, University of Aberdeen
Rafael Penaloza, TU Dresden
Axel Polleres, Siemens AG Osterreich
Andrea Pugliese, University of Calabria
Guilin Qi, Nanjing University China
Sebastian Rudolph, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology
Steven Schockaert, Ghent University
Mantas Simkus, TU Vienna
Sergio Tessaris, Free University of Bozen
Andrei Voronkov, University of Manchester

General chair:

  • Pascal Hitzler, Wright State University

Program chairs:

  • Markus Krotzsch, University of Oxford
  • Umberto Straccia, ISTI-CNR

Local Chair:

  • Thomas Eiter, TU Vienna

Doctoral Consortium Chair:

  • Alessandra Mileo, National University of Ireland Galway

Sponsorship Chair:

  • Marco Maratea, University of Genova

Publicity Chair:

  • Francesco Calimeri, University of Calabria