CFP: Principles and Practice of Declarative Programming (PPDP)

PPDP 2011
13th International ACM SIGPLAN Symposium on
Principles and Practice of Declarative Programming
July 20-22, 2011, Odense, Denmark

(in cooperation with ACM SIGPLAN, co-located with LOPSTR 2011)

PPDP 2011 aims to provide a forum that brings together researchers from the declarative programming communities, including those working in the logic, constraint and functional programming paradigms, but also embracing a variety of other paradigms such as visual programming, executable specification languages, database languages, AI languages and knowledge representation languages used, for example, in the semantic web. The goal is to stimulate research in the use of logical formalisms and methods for specifying, performing, and analyzing computations, including mechanisms for mobility, modularity, concurrency, object-orientation, security, and static analysis. Papers related to the use of declarative paradigms and tools in industry and education are especially solicited.

The conference will held in cooperation with ACM SIGPLAN and take place in July 2011 in Odense, Denmark, co-located with the 21st International Symposium on Logic-Based Program Synthesis and Transformation (LOPSTR 2011).


  • Logic, Constraint, and Functional Programming
  • Database, AI and Knowledge Representation Languages
  • Visual Programming
  • Executable Specification Languages
  • Applications of Declarative Programming
  • Methodologies: Program Design and Development
  • Declarative Aspects of Object-Oriented Programming
  • Concurrent Extensions to Declarative Languages
  • Declarative Mobile Computing
  • Integration of Paradigms
  • Proof Theoretic and Semantic Foundations
  • Type and Module Systems
  • Program Analysis and Verification
  • Program Transformation
  • Abstract Machines and Compilation
  • Programming Environments

This list is not exhaustive – submissions describing  new and interesting ideas relating broadly to declarative programming are encouraged.

Abstract submission:   March 8, 2011
Paper submission:      March 15, 2011
Notification:          April 19, 2011
Camera-ready version:  May 12, 2011
Symposium:             July 20-22, 2011

Papers should be submitted via the submission website for PPDP 2011:
Papers must describe original work, be written and presented in English, and must not substantially overlap with papers that have been published or that are simultaneously submitted to a journal, conference, or workshop with refereed proceedings. Work that already appeared in unpublished or informally published workshop proceedings may be submitted (please contact the PC chair in case of questions).
Papers should consist of the equivalent of 12 pages under the ACM formatting guidelines. These guidelines are available online, along with formatting templates or style files.
Submitted papers will be judged on the basis of significance, relevance, correctness, originality, and clarity. They should include a clear identification of what has been accomplished and why it is significant. Authors who wish to provide additional material to the reviewers beyond the 12-page limit can do so in clearly marked appendices: reviewers are not required to read such appendices.

The proceedings will be published by ACM Press. Authors of accepted papers will be required to sign a copyright form.

Peter Achten                Radboud University Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Sergio Antoy                Portland State University, USA
Michael Codish              Ben-Gurion University of the Negev, Israel
Moreno Falaschi             Universita di Siena, Italy
Amy Felty                   University of Ottawa, Canada
Michael Hanus               University of Kiel, Germany (Chair)
Andy King                   University of Kent, UK
Helene Kirchner             INRIA, France
Francisco J. Lopez Fraguas  Universidad Complutense de Madrid, Spain
Salvador Lucas              Universidad Politecnica de Valencia, Spain
Simon Peyton Jones          Microsoft Research, Cambridge, UK
Kostis Sagonas              Uppsala University, Sweden
Peter Schneider-Kamp        University of Southern Denmark, Denmark
Doaitse Swierstra           Utrecht University, The Netherlands
Paul Tarau                  University of North Texas, USA
Peter Thiemann              University of Freiburg, Germany
Kazunori Ueda               Waseda University, Japan
Tarmo Uustalu               Tallinn University of Technology, Estonia
Peter Van Roy               Catholic University of Louvain, Belgium

For more information, contact the chairs:

Program Chair:
Michael Hanus
University of Kiel, Germany

Symposium Chair:
Peter Schneider-Kamp
University of Southern Denmark